The New York Buddhist Church



Copyright © New York Buddhist Church

331-332 Riverside Drive
New York, NY 10025
Phone: 212-678-0305
Fax: 212-662-4502

2019 Calendar of Events

 

 

JANUARY 2019

Jan. 1, Tuesday

11:30am: Shusho-e New Year's Day Service, Speaker Rev Earl Ikeda

1 pm: New Year's Day potluck lunch, Kakizome, Brush painting and Hyakunnin-isshu

Jan. 2, Wednesday 

7-8:30pm: Chantng and Meditation  

Jan. 3, Thursday

7-8:30 pm Howakai Japanese Study Group

Jan. 5, Saturday

10-11:30 am: Dhara Gathering and Study Class

Jan. 6, Sunday

11:30am: Shotsuki Hoyo Service

1:30 am: Religious Education Dept. meeting 

Jan. 9, Wednesday

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation  

Jan. 12, Saturday

12:30-2pm: Ukulele Class and Strumming Circle 

Jan. 13, Sunday

10:30am: Japanese Service 

11:30am: English Service

1:00pm: Adult Buddhist Association meeting

12:30-1pm: Taiko for 5 yr. olds, 1-2pm:  Taiko for Children,   2-3pm for Adults.   

Jan. 16, Wednesday

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation

Jan. 20 Sunday

11:30am: Ho-onko Shinran Shonin Memorial Service, Speaker Rev Earl Ikeda

1:00pm: Buddhist Womens Association New Year's Luncheon (Shojin Ryori Bento)

Jan. 23, Wednesday

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation

Jan. 26, Saturday

12:30-2pm: Ukulele class and Strumming Circle

Jan. 27, Sunday

10:30am Japanese Service

11:30am English Service

1:00pm: SOKAI Annual Membership Meeting, (followed by brief Board of Trustees meeting)

12:30-1pm: Taiko for 5 yr. olds, 1-2pm:  Taiko for Children,   2-3pm for Adults.   


FEBRUARY 2019

Feb. 2, Sat.  10-11:30am: Dharma Gathering and Study Class 

Feb. 3, Sun.  11:30am: Shotsuki Hoyo; Speaker:  Rev. Ikeda

Feb. 6, Wed.  7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation 

Feb. 7, Thu.  7-8:30pm: Howakai (Japanese Study Group) 

Feb. 9, Sat.  12:30-2pm: Ukulele Class and Strumming Circle 

                      2:30-4pm: American Buddhist Study Center Program ; Film “American Pastime” 

Feb. 10, Sun.  11:30am: Nirvana Day (Nehan-e) and Pets Memorial Service   

                      1:30pm: Adult Buddhist Association meeting

                      Taiko classes :  5 year olds (12:30-1:15),Children (1-2:15pm); adults (2:15-3:15pm)

Feb. 13, Wed.  7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation 

Feb. 17, Sun.  10:30am: Japanese Service; 11:30am: English Service   Speaker:  Rev. Earl Ikeda

                        1:00pm: Board of Trustees meeting 

Feb. 20, Wed.  7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation 

Feb. 23, Sat.  12:30-2pm: Ukulele Class and Strumming Circle  

Feb. 24, Sun.  10:30am: Japanese Service, 11:30am: English Service  Speaker:  MA Gary Jaskula
                        Taiko classes :  5 year olds (12:30-1:15),Children (1-2:15pm); adults (2-3:15pm) 

Feb. 27, Wed.  7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation


MARCH 2019

Mar. 2, Sat.  10-11:30am: Dharma Gathering

                     2:30-4pm: American Buddhist Study Center Program 

Mar. 3, Sun.  11:30am: Shotsuki Hoyo 

                      1pm: Religious Education Dept. meeting 

Mar. 6, Wed.  7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation 

Mar. 7, Thu.  7-8:30pm: Howakai (Japanese Study Group) 

Mar. 9, Sat. 12:30-2pm: Ukulele Class and Strumming Circle 

Mar. 10, Sun.  10:30am: Japanese Service; 11:30am: English Service 

                       1pm: Adult Buddhist Association meeting 

                       Taiko classes :  5 year olds (12:30-1:15),Children (1:152:15pm); adults (2:15-3:15pm)

Mar. 13, Wed.  7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation

Mar, 14, Thurs. ONAIJIN RESTORATION BEGINS

Mar. 17, Sun.  11:30am: Spring Higan-e Service 

                        1:30pm: Board of Trustees meeting 

Mar. 20 ,Wed.  7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation 

Mar. 23, Sat.  12:30-2pm: Ukulele Class and Strumming Circle 

Mar. 24, Sun.  11:30am: Rennyo Shonin Memorial Service 

                        Taiko classes :  5 year olds (12:30-1:15),Children (1:152:15pm); adults (2:15-3:15pm)