The New York Buddhist Church



Copyright © 2017 New York Buddhist Church

331-332 Riverside Drive
New York, NY 10025
Phone: 212-678-0305
Fax: 212-662-4502

2018 Calendar of Events

Click here for calendar in Japanese

SEPTEMBER 2018

Sept. 6, Thursday 

7:30-8:30pm: Howakai (Japanese Study Group) 

Sept. 8, Saturday

10-11:30am: Dharma Gathering and Study Class 

12:30-2pm: Ukulele Class and Strumming Circle 

2:30-4pm: American Buddhist Study Center, movie: "Best Wishes for Tomorrow" (Japanese film)  

Sept. 9, Sunday

11:00am: 9/11 Victims Memorial Service (in front of Shinran Shonin statue) 

11:30am: Shotsuki Hoyo monthly memorial service  Speaker: Rev. Earl Ikeda

1pm: Religious Education Dept. meeting

1:30pm: Adult Buddhist Association meeting 

Sept 12, Wednesday

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation 

Sept. 15, Saturday

12:30-2pm: Ukulele Class and Strumming Circle 

Sept. 16, Sunday

10:30am: Japanese Service, Speaker: MA Akemi Ishida

11:30am: English Service, Speaker: MA Cheryl Joko Ikemiya

1:30pm: Board of Trustees meeting 

Sept 19, Wednesday

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation

Sept. 22 Saturday

12:30-2pm: Ukulele Class and Strumming Circle 

Sept. 23, Sunday

11:30am: Autumn Ohigan-e (Equinox) Service, Speaker: Rev Earl Ikeda 

1:00pm: Keirokai Luncheon 

Sept 26, Wednesday

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation 

Sept. 30, Sunday

10:30am: Japanese Service

11:30am: English Service: Speaker:  Rev. Earl Ikeda


OCTOBER 2018

Oct. 3, Wednesday

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation 

Oct. 6, Saturday

12:30-2pm: Ukulele Class and Strumming Circle 

2:30-4pm: American Buddhist Study Center: "Buddhist and Philosophy, Discovering the meaning of Life," with Dr. David Matsumoto and Dr. John Kaag 

Oct. 7, Sunday

11:30am:  Shotsuki Hoyo monthly memorial Service  

Oct. 10, Wednesday 

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation  

Oct. 11, Thursday 

Soh Daiko Recruitment Event 

Oct. 14, Sunday

11:30am: Eitaikyo (Perpetual Memorial) Service  

1pm: Adult Buddhist Association meeting  

1:30pm: Board of Trustees meeting 

Oct. 17 Wednesday

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation  

Oct. 20, Saturday

New York Buddhist Church's 80th Anniversary Celebration Dinner held from 5:30-8:30  at The Oriental Garden ,14 Elizabeth Street, NYC 

Oct. 21, Sunday

10:30am: Japanese Service 

11:30am: 80th Anniversary Service, Speaker: Rev. Ron Miyamura (Midwest Buddhist Temple)

1-2pm:  Taiko for Children,   2-3pm for Adults.   *If you are interested in a class for 5yr-olds, contact Teddy Yoshikami at tyoshikami@verizon.net

Oct. 23, Wednesday

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation

Oct. 27, Saturday

12:30-2pm: Ukulele Class and Strumming Circle  

Oct. 28, Sunday

10:30am: Japanese Service

11:30am: English Service