The New York Buddhist Church



Copyright © New York Buddhist Church

331-332 Riverside Drive
New York, NY 10025
Phone: 212-678-0305
Fax: 212-662-4502

2020 Calendar of Events


**Please note: after careful consideration, the NYBC has suspended all activities until May 15.  You may wish to continue to visit this site to check on updated information regarding the reinitiation of our regular schedule.**


Mar. 1, Sun. 11:30am: Shotsuki Hoyo, Speaker: Rev. Earl Ikeda  

  • 1pm: Religious Education Dept. meeting
  • 3-5 pm: Dharma Talk by Lama Pema Wangdak (Sakya Palden/Vikramasila Foundation) and Khenpo Jamyang on "Refuge" - OPEN TO THE PUBLIC

Mar. 4, Wed. 7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation

Mar. 5, Thu. 7-8:30pm: Howakai (Japanese Study Group)

Mar. 7, Sat. 10-11:30am: Dharma Gathering and Study Class

  • 12:30-2pm: Ukulele Class and Strumming Circle
  • 2:30-4pm: American Buddhist Study Center Program

Mar. 8, Sun. 10:30am: Japanese Service; 11:30am: English Service, Speaker: Rev Earl Ikeda 

  • Taiko sessions: 12:30-1:15pm (7-11yr olds); 1:15- 2:15pm (teens); 2:15-3:15pm (adults). For information contact Teddy at tyoshikami@verizon.net
  • 1:30pm: Adult Buddhist Association meeting

Mar. 11, Wed. 7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation

Mar. 14, Sat. [12:30-2pm: Ukulele Class and Strumming Circle]

Mar. 15, Sun. 11:30am: Spring Higan-e Service, Speaker: Rev. Earl Ikeda 

Mar. 18, Wed. 7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation

Mar. 22, Sun. 11:30am: Rennyo Shonin Memorial Service, Speaker: MA Isabelle Shinjo Bernard

  • Taiko sessions: 12:30-1:15pm (7-11yr olds); 1:15- 2:15pm (teens); 2:15-3:15pm (adults). For information contact Teddy at tyoshikami@verizon.net

Mar. 25, Wed. 7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation

Mar.29, Sun. 10:30am: Japanese Service; 11:30am: English Service, speaker: Rev Earl Ikeda

  • 1:00 pm SOKAI Annual Membership Meeting, followed by short Board meeting

Apr. 1, Wed.  7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation

Apr. 2, Thu.  7-8:30pm: Howakai (Japanese Study Group)

Apr. 4, Sat. 2:30-2pm: Ukulele Class and Strumming Circle

  • 2:30-4pm: American Buddhist Study Center Program

Apr. 5, Sun.  11:30am: Shotsuki Hoyo

·       1pm: Religious Education Dept. meeting

·       1:30pm: Adult Buddhist Association meeting

·       Taiko sessions: 12:30-1:15pm (7-11yr olds); 1:15-2:15pm (teens); 2:15-3:15pm (adults). For information contact Teddy at tyoshikami@verizon.net

·       2 pm: “So Long Asleep” – documentary film (hondo)

Apr. 8, Wed.  7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation

Apr. 12, Sun.  10:30am: Hatsumairi (Infant Presentation) Service, 11:30am: Hanamatsuri (Buddha's Birthday) Service

Apr. 15, Wed.  7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation

Apr. 18, Sat.  12:30-2pm: Ukulele Class and Strumming Circle

Apr. 19, Sun. 10:30am: Japanese Service, 11:30am: English Service

·       1:00 pm: Board of Trustees meeting

·       Taiko sessions: 12:30-1:15pm (7-11yr olds); 1:15-2:15pm (teens); 2:15-3:15pm (adults). For information contact Teddy at tyoshikami@verizon.net

Apr. 22, Wed.  7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation

Apr. 25, Sat.  12:30-2pm: Ukelele Class and Stumming CIrcle

Apr. 26, Sun. 10:30am: Japanese Service, 11:30am: English Service

Apr. 29, Wed. 7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation