The New York Buddhist Church



Copyright © New York Buddhist Church

331-332 Riverside Drive
New York, NY 10025
Phone: 212-678-0305
Fax: 212-662-4502

NYBC 2020 CALENDAR of Events

 

Photo is of Hiroshima Nagasaki Day Memorial August 2011 


**Please note: 

The New York Buddhist Church is beginning to plan how best to reopen its doors to religious and other activities. Although we are eager to welcome you back to the temple for in-person services, our foremost concern is the safety and wellbeing of our Sangha, community of friends and neighbors, and members of the general public. 

We would like you to know that we are beginning the planning process for a limited, phased reopening and ask for your understanding and patience as we work through this process. New protocols will include the need to limit the numbers of people who will be able to enter the building, new sanitation and cleaning processes, ensuring appropriate social distancing, and other health and safety precautions.  We will keep you informed about the progress of our planning and the expected schedule of a phased re-opening.  For any emergencies, contact NYBC at (212) 678-0305. 


JULY:

July 1, Wed.

7-8 pm: Chanting and Meditation *(Contact nybc332@gmail.com for Zoom invitation)

July 2, Thurs. Independence Day

7-8:30pm: Howakai (Study Group in Japanese) (Contact yuko.tonohira@gmail.com for Zoom invitation)

July 5, Sun.

11:30am: LIVESTREAM: Shotsuki Hoyo Monthly Memorial Service

1pm: Religious Education Dept. meeting

July 10, Wed.

7-8 pm: Chanting and Meditation *(as 7/1)

July 11, Sat.

10-11:30 Dharma Study Class with Rev Earl Ikeda *(as 7/1)

July 12, Sun.

11:30am: LIVESTREAM: Hatsubon/Obon Service and Rev. Hozen Seki Memorial Service

July 15, Wed.

7-8 pm: Chanting and Meditation *(as 7/1)

July 17, Fri

2-4 pm (EST): EBL Virtual Lecture: Rev Dr Mark Unno “Dharmakaya The Body of Great Compassion” (must pre-register at nybc332@gmail.com)

July 18, Sat.

10-11:30 Dharma Study Class with Rev Earl Ikeda

July 19, Sun.

11:30am: LIVESTREAM: Regular Sunday Service, Speaker: Rev Earl Ikeda

1:30pm: Board of Trustees meeting

July 22, Wed.

7-8 pm: Chanting and Meditation (Contact nybc332@gmail.com for Zoom invitation)

July 24, Fri

3-5pm (EST): EBL Virtual Lecture: Rev. Blayne Higa “It’s OK to Not Be OK: Buddhist Wisdom for Living” (must pre-register at nybc332@gmail.com)

July 25, Sat

10-11:30 Dharma Study Class with Rev Earl Ikeda (Contact nybc332@gmail.com for Zoom invitation)

July 26, Sun.

11:30am: LIVESTREAM: Regular Sunday Service Speaker TBA

July 29, Wed.

7-8 pm: Chanting and Meditation (Contact nybc332@gmail.com for Zoom invitation)

 

AUGUST:

 Aug. 1, Sat.

10-11:30am: Dharma Gathering and Study Class (TBC = to be confirmed)

Aug. 2, Sun. OUTDOOR SERVICE (pending: to be confirmed)

11am: Hiroshima & Nagasaki Memorial Service

11:30am: Shotsuki Hoyo

Aug. 5-Sept. 4

Summer Break - Church closed

 

August 15th at 9 pm EST (6pm PDT) – BCA Virtual Obon, “Obon in your Living Room”

Obon instructors from BCA temples will be sharing their dances and BCA sangha members will zoom in from all over the country.

Come join in! To register go to https://forms.gle/93mDAbuVAVrkQviGB

Questions: cbe@bcahq.org or call 510-809-1460