The New York Buddhist Church


NYBC Calendar and Events

You are welcome to join our sangha for Sunday services! We continue to livestream our Sunday services and are grateful that so many of you are participating online, you may join us on the NYBC Facebook Page or on NYBC's YouTube channel.  

To join the Chanting and Meditation group that meets on Weds. online, or Dharmachatplease request link at nybc332@gmail.com

If you wish to add a loved ones name to the list that is read for Shotsuki Hoyo monthly memorial service, held on the first Sunday of every month at 11:30 am, please fill out this form and email it to us at nybc332@gmail.com 

  **Check out our Community Page (click here) to see what special events are upcoming...and more!

 



JUNE

June 1, Sat. 10:30-12pm: Dharma Gathering and Study Class 

Ikebana (Flower Arranging) Class with Sensei Junko Yamakawa (Sogetsu School) - email for details ymkwjun@gmail.com

June 1 Sat Opening of NYBC Columbarium at Cypress Hills 

June 2, Sun.  11:30am: Shotsuki Hoyo, guest speaker: Rev. Kenji Akahoshi 

Samara Yoga 10-11 am, 2nd floor 331 RSD. For more info email okamoto_yuki@yahoo.com

Learn Taiko with Teddy Yoshikami -  3-4 Teens, 4-4:30pm New Teens, 4:30-5pm: 7-11 yr olds, 5-6pm: beginner adults, 6-7pm: advanced adults  for more info email  tyoshikami@verizon.net

June 5, Weds. 7-8pm: Chanting and Meditation   

June 6, Thurs. 7-8pm: Howakai (Japanese Study Group)

June 8, Sat.  11-12 pm  Dharmachat 

June 9, Sun.  11:30am: Sunday service, speaker: Rev Kurt Kyosei Rye

June 12, Weds. 7-8pm: Chanting and Meditation

June 15, Sat.  Ikebana (Flower Arranging) Class with Sensei Junko Yamakawa (Sogetsu School) - email for details ymkwjun@gmail.com

June 16, Sun. 11:30am: Asaji and Sunday service, speaker: Rev Kurt Kyosei Rye

1:30pm: Board of Trustees meeting

Samara Yoga 10-11 am, 2nd floor 331 RSD. For more info email 
okamoto_yuki@yahoo.com

Learn Taiko with Teddy Yoshikami -  3-4 Teens, 4-4:30pm New Teens, 4:30-5pm: 7-11 yr olds, 5-6pm: beginner adults, 6-7pm: advanced adults  for more info email  tyoshikami@verizon.net

June 17, Mon.  6:30pm:  Old Fashioned Monday Night Movies  *(to raise funds for a new projection screen). Suggested donation $10.00 includes snack & bottle of green tea. For more information click on link  https://forms.gle/G49gCPpRZ36nq8qB6

June 19, Weds. 7-8pm: Chanting and Meditation

June 22, Sat.  11-12pm: Dharmachat

June 23 Sun. 11:30am: Sunday service, speaker: Rev Kurt Kyosei Rye

1-2 pm: Exploring Buddhism 1 with Rev Kurt Rye: Curious about Buddhism? Have questions to ask? Join class discussion on Buddhist history and doctrine, our Jodoshinshu tradition, its lineage, teachers and practice. Open to the Public! 

June 26, Weds.  7-8pm: Chanting and Meditation

June 30, Sun. 11:30am: Sunday service, speaker: Rev Kurt Kyosei Rye  *(PRIDE PARADE)

Learn Taiko with Teddy Yoshikami -  3-4 Teens, 4-4:30pm New Teens, 4:30-5pm: 7-11 yr olds, 5-6pm: beginner adults, 6-7pm: advanced adults  for more info email  tyoshikami@verizon.net   *(last class until October)

 



JULY 

July 3, Weds. 7-8pm: Chanting and Meditation

July 6, Sat. 10:30-12pm: Dharma Gathering and Study Class

July 7, Sun. 11:30am: Shotsuki Hoyo and Rev. Hozen Seki Memorial service, speaker: Rev Kurt Kyosei Rye

July 10, Weds. 7-8:00pm: Chanting and Meditation

July 11, Thurs. 7-8pm: Howakai (Japanese Study Group)

July 13, Sat. 11-12pm: Dharmachat

July 14, Sun. 11:30am: OBON service speaker: Rev Kurt Kyosei Rye 

July 16, Tues. 11:00am: Asaji Service (Shinran Shonin Memorial)

July 17, Weds.  7-8pm: Chanting and Meditation

July 20, Sat.  Seabrook Buddhist Temple Bon Matsuri

July 21, Sun. 11:30am: Sunday service, speaker: Rev Isabelle Shinjo Bernard

1:30pm: Board of Trustees meeting

July 24, Weds. 7-8:00pm: Chanting and Meditation

July 27, Sat. 11-12pm: Dharmachat

July 27,  Sat. 12pm: Willow Grove Cemetery service - tri-temple event

July 28, Sun. 11:30: Sunday service:  speaker: Rev Kurt Rye
1-2 pm: Exploring Buddhism 1 - with Rev Kurt Kyosei Rye (meets monthly last Sunday)

July 31, Weds.  7-8pm: Chanting and Meditation

 

AUGUST  

Aug. 1, Thurs. 7-8pm: Howakai (Japanese Study Group)

Aug. 3, Sat. 10:30-12pm: Dharma Gathering and Study Class

Aug. 4, Sun.  11am: Hiroshima & Nagasaki Memorial Service and Shotsuki Hoyo, speaker: Rev Kurt Rye

Aug 30- Sept 1, .Fri and Sat.  (Minister’s Fuken)

Aug. 5 -Sept. 6  Summer Break - Church closed

 

 
 

Support NYBC With Your Donation