The New York Buddhist Church



Copyright © New York Buddhist Church

331-332 Riverside Drive
New York, NY 10025
Phone: 212-678-0305
Fax: 212-662-4502

NYBC 2020 CALENDAR of Events

 

Photo is of Hiroshima Nagasaki Day Memorial August 2011 


**Please note: 

The New York Buddhist Church is beginning to plan how best to reopen its doors to religious and other activities. Although we are eager to welcome you back to the temple for in-person services, our foremost concern is the safety and wellbeing of our Sangha, community of friends and neighbors, and members of the general public. 

We would like you to know that we are beginning the planning process for a limited, phased reopening and ask for your understanding and patience as we work through this process. New protocols will include the need to limit the numbers of people who will be able to enter the building, new sanitation and cleaning processes, ensuring appropriate social distancing, and other health and safety precautions.  We will keep you informed about the progress of our planning and the expected schedule of a phased re-opening.  For any emergencies, contact NYBC at (212) 678-0305. 


SEPTEMBER

Sept. 10, Thu.

7-8:30pm: Howakai (Japanese Study Group)

Sept. 12, Sat.

10-11:30am: Dharma Gathering and Study Class

Sept. 13, Sun.

11:30am: 9/11 Victims Memorial Service and Shotsuki Hoyo

1pm: Religious Education Dept. meeting

Sept. 16 Wed.

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation

Sept. 20, Sun.

11:30am: Autumn Ohigan Service 

1:30pm: Board of Trustees meeting

Sept. 23, Wed.

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation

Sept. 27, Sun.

11:30am: Virtual service -  Speaker: Rev Gary Shobo Jaskula

Sept. 30, Wed.

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation


OCTOBER 

Oct. 1, Thu.

7-8:30pm: Howakai (Japanese Study Group)

Oct. 3, Sat.

10-11:30am: Dharma Gathering and Study Class

Oct. 4, Sun.

11:30am: Shotsuki Hoyo

1pm: Religious Education Dept. meeting

Oct. 7, Wed.

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation

Oct. 11, Sun.

11:30am: Eitaikyo (Perpetual Memorial) Service

Oct. 14, Wed.

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation

Oct. 18, Sun.

11:30am: Virtual Service

1:30pm: Board of Trustees meeting 

Oct. 21, Wed.

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation

Oct. 25, Sun.

11:30am: Virtual Service

Oct. 28, Wed.

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation


NOVEMBER 

Nov. 1, Sun.

11:30am: Rev. Kan Memorial Service and Shotsuki Hoyo

1pm: Religious Education Dept. meeting

Nov. 4, Wed.

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation

Nov. 5, Thu.

7-8:30pm: Howakai (Japanese Study Group)

Nov. 7, Sat.

10-11:30am: Dharma Gathering and Study Class

Nov.8, Sun.

11:30am: Virtual Service

Nov 11, Weds. (Veterans Day)

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation

Nov. 15, Sun.

11:30am: Eshinni-ko, Kakushinni-ko and BWA Memorial Service

1:30pm: Board of Trustees meeting

Nov. 18, Wed.

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation

Nov. 22, Sun.

11:30am: Virtual Service

Nov. 29, Sun.

11:30am: Virtual Service


DECEMBER 

Dec. 3, Thurs.

7-8:30pm: Howakai (Japanese Study Group)

Dec. 5. Sat.

10-11:30am: Dharma Gathering and Study Class

Dec. 6, Sun.

11:30am: Shotsuki Hoyo

1pm: Religious Education Dept. meeting

Dec. 9, Wed.

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation

Dec. 13, Sun.

11:30am: Bodhi Day Service

Dec. 16, Wed.

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation

Dec. 20, Sun.

11:30am: Virtual Service

1:30pm: Board of Trustees meeting

Dec. 23, Wed.

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation

Dec. 27, Sun.

11:30am: Virtual Service

Dec. 31, Thurs.

7-9pm: Joya-e (New Year's Eve) Service


PLEASE NOTE: On Sunday August 9, 16, 23, and September 6 we will be replaying Sunday Services at 11:30 am on our YouTube Channel. Please enjoy watching these services, chant along, and stay safe!

After our break, we will resume livestream services on September 13th. Much gratitude to Rev Earl and the NYBC technical team for facilitating these services. And thanks to all of you, our sangha, for joining services, and making our efforts worthwhile!

***FYI: during the "break" our hardworking volunteerTechnical Director will be installing new equipment to make our livestreaming and recording of services and lectures better (we've been using his equipment to now!) If you would like to support this by making a donation, it will be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your dana to NYBC!!!