The New York Buddhist Church



Copyright © 2017 New York Buddhist Church

331-332 Riverside Drive
New York, NY 10025
Phone: 212-678-0305
Fax: 212-662-4502

2018 Calendar of Events

Click here for calendar in Japanese

JULY 2018

July 1, Sun.  11:30am: Shotsuki Hoyo, Speaker: Rev Earl Ikeda

                      1pm: Religious Education Dept. meeting 

                      1:30pm: Adult Buddhist Association meeting 

July 3, Tue.  6:30-8pm: Bon Dance Practice

                     6:30-8pm “Believing Again: Shinran as a Teacher for Our Times”talk by Dr. Dennis Hirota, Open to the Public

July 5, Thu.  6:30-8pm: Bon Dance Practice

July 8, Sun.  10:30am: Short Combined Service, Speaker: Rev Earl Ikeda

                      12:30pm: Bon Dance Festival in Bryant Park 

July 11, Wed.  7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation 

July 12, Thu.  7-8:30pm: Howakai (Japanese Study Group)  

July 14, Sat. 12:30-2pm: Ukulele Class and Strumming Circle 

July 15, Sun.  10:30am: Hatsubon Service  Kangi-E 

                        11:30am: Obon Service and Rev. Hozen Seki Memorial Service

July 18, Wed.  7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation 

July 21, Sat.  Seabrook Buddhist Temple Bon Dance Festival, Seabrook, New Jersey

July 22, Sun.  10:30am: Japanese Service, Speaker: MA Akemi Koue Ishida 

                         11:30am: English Service, Speaker: MA Gary Shobo Jaskula

                         1:30pm: Board of Trustees meeting 

July 25, Wed.  7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation 

July 28, Sat.  1:30pm: Obon Memorial Service, Willow Grove Cemetery, New Brunswick, NJ 
                       12:30-2pm: Ukulele Class and Strumming Circle 

July 29, Sun.  10:30am: Japanese Service, 11:30am: English Service


AUGUST 2018

Aug. 1, Wed.  7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation 

Aug. 2, Thu.  7-8:30pm: Howakai (Japanese Study Group)  

Aug. 4, Sat.  10-11:30am: Dharma Gathering and Study Class  
                       2:30-4pm: American Buddhist Study Center Program  

Aug. 5, Sun.   11am: Hiroshima & Nagasaki Memorial Service  
                       11:30am: Shotsuki Hoyo, Speaker: Rev. Earl Ikeda 
                       1pm: Adult Buddhist Association  

Aug. 6-Sept. 5  Summer Break - Church closed 

Aug. 31-Sept 2  Eastern Buddhist League Conference, Toronto, Canada