The New York Buddhist Church



Copyright © 2017 New York Buddhist Church

331-332 Riverside Drive
New York, NY 10025
Phone: 212-678-0305
Fax: 212-662-4502

  

2018 Calendar of Events

Click here for calendar in Japanese

MAY

May 2, Weds.  7-8:30 pm:  Chanting and Meditation

May 3, Thurs.  7-8:30 pm:  Howakai Japanese Study Group

May 5, Sat. 10-11:30 am:  Dharma Gathering and Study Class 

May 6, Sun.  11:30 am:  Shotsuki Hoyo (monthly memorial service), Speaker Rev Earl Ikeda

May 9, Weds.  7-8:30 pm:  Chanting and Meditation

May 13, Sun. : 10:30 am Japanese service, Speaker: Rev Earl Ikeda

                         11:30 am English service, Speaker Rev Earl Ikeda

                       1 pm:  Adult Buddhist Association (ABA) meeting

                       1-2 pm: Children's Taiko,  2-3 pm:  Adult Taiko

May 16, Weds. 7-8:30 pm:  Chanting and Meditation

May 19, Sat.  12:30-2 pm: Ukulele Class and Strumming Circle

May 20, Sun.  11:30 am: Gotan-ye (Shinran Shonin's Birthday) Service, Speaker: Rev Earl Ikeda 

May 23, Weds. 7-8:30 pm:  Chanting and Meditation

May 26, Sat.  12:30-2 pm: Ukulele Class and Strumming Circle

May 27, Sun. 10:30 am:  Japanese Service - Speaker: MA Akemi Koue Ishida

                    11:30 am English Service - Speaker: MA Isabelle Shinjo Bernard

May 28, Mon. Memorial Day Service at Mt. Olivet and Cypress Hills Cemetaries

May 30, Weds. 7-8:30 pm:  Chanting and Meditation


JUNE

June 2, Sat.  7-8:30 pm:  Dharma Gathering and Study Class 

June 3, Sun.  11:30 am:  Shotsuki Hoyo (monthly memorial service), Speaker Rev Earl Ikeda

                     1:00 pm Sangha Day potluck lunch and talent show

June 6, Weds.  7-8:30 pm:  Chanting and Meditation

June 7, Thurs. 7-8:30 pm Howakai Japanese Study Class

June 10, Sun. : 10:30 am Japanese service, Speaker: Rev Earl Ikeda

                         11:30 am English service, Speaker Rev Earl Ikeda

                       1 pm:  Adult Buddhist Association (ABA) meeting

                       1:30 pm: Board of Trustees Meeting

                       1-2 pm: Children's Taiko,  2-3 pm:  Adult Taiko

June 13, Weds. 7-8:30 pm:  Chanting and Meditation

June 16, Sat.  12:30-2 pm: Ukulele Class and Strumming Circle

June 17, Sun. 10:30 am:  Japanese Service - Speaker: MA Akemi Koue Ishida

                    11:30 am English Service - Speaker: MA Cheryl Joko Ikemiya

                        2:00 pm: Tachibana Dance Recital

June 21, Weds. 7-8:30 pm:  Chanting and Meditation

June 24, Sun. 10:30 am:  Japanese Service

                    11:30 am English Service - Speaker: 

                    12 noon - 5 pm: NYC Pride March

                    1-2 pm: Children's Taiko,  2-3 pm:  Adult Taiko (last sessions until Fall 2018)

June 26, Tues. 6:30 - 8 pm  Bon Dance practice

June 27, Weds. 7-8:30 pm:  Chanting and Meditation

June 28, Thurs.  6:30 - 8 pm  Bon Dance practice

June 30, Sat. 10 - 11:30 am: Dharma Gathering and Study Class

                       12:30 - 2 pm: Ukulele class and strumming circle