The New York Buddhist Church



Copyright © 2017 New York Buddhist Church

331-332 Riverside Drive
New York, NY 10025
Phone: 212-678-0305
Fax: 212-662-4502

  

2017 Calendar of Events


SEPTEMBER

Sept. 1-4,  Fri.-Mon.                                                                                                                                      

Eastern Buddhist League Conference, Midwest Buddhist Temple, Chicago, IL

Sept. 6, Wed.  7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation 

 Sept. 7, Thu.  7:30-8:30pm: Howakai (Japanese Study Group) 

Sept. 10, Sun.  11:00am: 9/11 Victims Memorial Service (in front of Shinran Shonin statue)

                          11:30am: Shotsuki Hoyo monthly memorial service, Speaker: Rev. Earl Ikeda

                           Chairperson: Nancy Okada, Greeter: Hiroki Hasegawa, Music, Nobuko Kodama

                           1:30pm: Adult Buddhist Association meeting

Sept 13, Wed.  7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation

Sept. 17, Sun.   10:30am: Japanese Service, Speaker: Rev Earl Ikeda

                           11:30am: English Service, Speaker: Rev Earl Ikeda

                           Chairperson: Richard Gross:  Greeter:  Chieko Iwaki,  Music: Dai MIyazaki

                           1:30pm: Board of Trustees meeting

Sept 20, Wed.  7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation

Sept. 23, Sat.   10-1pm: "The Roots of Jodo Shinshu in Tendai" - Seminar with Abbott Monshin Paul Naamon, Tendai Institute

Sept. 24, Sun.  11:30am: Autumn Ohigan-e (Equinox) Service,  Speaker: Abbott Monshin Paul Naamon, Tendai Institute                         

                          Chairperson:  Marc Grobman, Greeter:  Kyoko Nishiyama, Music:  Yoriko Armstrong

                          1pm: Keirokai Luncheon

Sept 27, Wed.  7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation

Sept. 28, Sat.  Soh Daiko Recruitment Event


   **CLICK HERE for Japanese version


OCTOBER

Oct. 1, Sun.  11:30am: Shotsuki Hoyo Service, Speaker:  Rev Earl Ikeda

                      Chairperson: Mariko Kato, Greeter: Hiroki Hasegawa, Music: Nobuko Kodama 

Oct. 4, Wed.   7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation 

Oct. 5, Thu.  7-8:30pm: Howakai (Japanese Study Group) 

Oct. 7, Sat.  10-11:30am: Dharma Gathering and Study Class 

           2:30-2pm: Ukulele Class and Strumming Circle 

           2:30-4pm: American Buddhist Study Center Program: Highlights of the Geroge Aritani Tribute held in Los Angeles 

Oct. 8, Sun. 10:30am: Japanese Service 

           11:30am: English Service, Speaker: Rev Earl Ikeda

           Chairperson: Gertrude Kihara, Greeter: Renee Samenick, Music: Yoriko Armstrong 

           1pm: Adult Buddhist Association meeting 

Oct. 11, Wed.  7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation 

Oct. 15, Sun.  11:30am: Eitaikyo (Perpetual Memorial) Service

           Speaker: MA Vonn Magnin, Arizon Buddhist Temple  

           Chairperson: Richard Gross, Greeter: Lillian Moy,  Music: Ukulele group

           1:30pm: Board of Trustees meeting 

Oct. 18, Wed.  7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation 

Oct. 21, Sat.   10am-4pm: Autumn Festival Fundraiser 

Oct. 22, Sun. 10:30am: Japanese Service, Speaker: Rev Earl Ikeda

             11:30am: English Service: Speaker: Rev Earl Ikeda

             Chairperson: Hoshina Seki,  Greeter: Chieko Iwaki, Music: Nobuko Kodama 

             1-2pm Children’s Taiko; 2-3pm Adult Taiko 

Oct. 25, Wed.

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation 

Oct. 28, Sat.

12:30-2pm: Ukulele Class and Strumming Circle 

Oct. 29, Sun.

10:30am: Japanese Service 

11:30am: English Service,  Speaker:

Chairperson: Tony Armstrong, Greeter: Kyoko Nishiyama, Music: Ukulele group


NOVEMBER

Nov. 1, Wed.

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation 

Nov. 2, Thu.

7-8:30pm: Howakai (Japanese Study Group) 

Nov. 4, Sat.

Hawaiian Luau Benefit Luncheon: Traditional Hawaiian Food, Prizes and Island Entertainment Bring your Family and Friends to benefit the NYBC 

Nov. 5, Sun.

10:30-11 am Meditation (2nd floor)

11:30am: Rev. Kan Memorial Service and Shotsuki Hoyo,

1pm: Religious Education Dept. meeting 

1pm: Children’s Taiko; 2pm: Adult Taiko 

2 pm: American Buddhist Study Center: Art Exhibition: Buddhist Inspired Pottery by Auguste Elder 

Nov. 8, Wed.

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation 

Nov. 12, Sun.

10:30-11 am Meditation (2nd fl)

1:30 am: Japanese Service: Speaker: Rev Earl Ikeda

11:30 am English Service:  Guest Speaker: Dr. Dennis Hirota

1pm: Adult Buddhist Association meeting 

Nov. 15, Wed.

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation 

Nov. 18, Sat.

12:30-2pm: Ukulele Class and Strumming Circle 

Nov. 19, Sun.

          10:30am: Japanese Service, Speaker: 

11:30am: English Service, Speaker: MA 

1:30pm: Board of Trustees meeting 

1pm: Children’s Taiko; 2pm: Adult Taiko 

Nov. 22, Wed.

7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation 

Nov. 26, Sun.

10:30am: Japanese Service 

11:30am: English Service 

Nov. 29, Wed.

           7-8:30pm: Chanting and Meditation